top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Stoned at Home Mom

Cannabis: From Womb to World (Part I)

In the world of cannabis, personal experience is all we’ve got. There’s no studies, no open discussions, and certainly no acceptance when it comes to consumption during a time we probably need it the most.


The day I found out I was pregnant, I immediately put it in my head that I was going to quit smoking. I wasn’t even a heavy user at the time, so it wasn’t major, but I was definitely sad about it. It should come as no surprise that the hiatus didn’t last long. I started doing my own research, and began drawing my own conclusions about the effects of cannabis use during pregnancy. The majority of this “research” came from cannabis-related Facebook groups. In these groups, I read so many posts about moms all concerned about the same things- pregnancy, breastfeeding, and {the biggest one} CPS. I took everyone else’s stories, combined them with my own personal judgement, and made the decision to continue smoking up until around 20 weeks. The only reason I stopped was because I wasn’t sure about the drug testing procedures and didn’t want to risk getting CPS involved (worst case scenario).


My pregnancy was honestly amazing. It was so easy with no issues or complications. I had zero morning sickness, and didn’t really experience those general pregnancy symptoms. Was that due to smoking? I have no idea. I worked out everyday, and I’m a pretty healthy individual, so I’m sure many factors were involved. The only time I really had any problems was in my third trimester. I really wish I had known about CBD back then— it really would’ve helped me out.


So how is cannabis so beneficial during pregnancy? Nausea (and in severe cases, hyperemesis gravidarum), low appetite/weight gain, mood swings, insomnia, back/hip pain, etc. It really is a cure all, and alleviates so many of the worst symptoms of pregnancy. Some women don't feel comfortable smoking while pregnant, and that is totally alright! These days, there are so many other options. Edibles are huge, and you can literally make anything an edible. There is also CBD, which has all the benefits, minus the THC if that's a major concern.


But what about the uncertainty of knowing the effects in the womb? Well I am no doctor, but I am here to tell you that I, or any other woman I've talked to, have never had any negative experiences or effects, and that is including Camilla as well. She was born as healthy as can be. To this day, she still has never even gotten a cold (she's 15 months old, and I also really hope I didn't just jinx myself). Once again, I am in no way saying that is due to my cannabis use during those first 20 weeks. I am just giving my personal experience! The only message I'm trying to convey is that the benefits seem to far outweigh the risks. I'm also saying, do the research yourself. Talk to real people with real experiences and make decisions that you feel will benefit yourself and your baby.


Stay tuned for part 2, where I'll talk about breastfeeding and postpartum!



73 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A little bit about me 🤗

I feel like before I start this blog, I need to tell you a little bit about myself first. I'll try to keep it quick and not boring. I'm Natasha, I'm originally from Connecticut, but I currently live i

So I guess I started a blog or whatever.

Where do I even begin? By telling you this is never something I thought I would do. Then again, there’s a lot of things I never thought I would do. But here I am...a blogging stoner mom. However, I wa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page